The introductory blog – what to write, what to write, right? It’s ironic because I’m seldom at a loss for words. You know that person – Toby Keith sings it best in his song, “I Wanna Talk About Me?”https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HxUuDPNbkJk

I keep thinking of Charlotte’s Web, especially the first encounter between Charlotte and Wilbur:

‘And then, just as Wilbur was settling down for his morning nap, he heard again the thin voice that had addressed him the night before.

“Salutations!” said the voice. Wilbur jumped to his feet. “Salu-what?” he cried.

“Salutations!” repeated the voice.

“What are they, and where are you?” screamed Wilbur. “Please, please, tell me where you are. And what are salutations?”

“Salutations are greetings,” said the voice. “When I say ‘salutations,’ it’s just my fancy way of saying hello or good morning.”

– E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

And so without further ado, hello there! 

About ME


My name is Beth Malbon, and no Beth is not short for Elizabeth, it’s just Beth. I was named after the character in the book, Little Women. My last name, Malbon, is loosely translated to “bad good.” So, I guess that makes me: Just Beth Bad Good. 😉 LOL

I am a down to earth tomboy, with a compassionate heart for most living things. Most, because if I see a tick, I’m not going to think twice about sending it on its way into the fireplace or down the toilet – good riddance!

My Hobbies

  • Reading (I think I read about one novel per week. I love mystery thrillers.)
  • Writing – I used to write in a journal daily, but I have written poetry and short stories too.
  • Listening to music – I would definitely not be able to survive, opposite of Arethra Franklin’s ‘I Will Survive’, without my tunes. I absolutely love music! It helps me to unwind. Lindsey Sterling is great for unwinding after a long day.
  • My pets – all six of them and soon to be seven. Yes, that may seem like a lot, but it’s better than the five dogs and six cats I used to have! (No, I’m not a hoarder!)
  • Creating jewelry, rosaries, magnets, and the like
  • Oh, and I’m an addict for playing Candy Crush Saga – this game is highly addictive!

Did you notice that I didn’t mention anything about watching television? It’s because I don’t. I have watched TV here and there in the past, but for the most part, it is not an integral part of my life. 

Why? My parents never really watch TV, and my brother and I were only allowed to watch it on Friday/Saturday nights. However, if we wanted to play video games (Atari) – this was allowed as long as our homework was done. My parents’ reasoning: video games broaden your brain, whereas being a couch potato doesn’t.
Ack, I’m getting off track! (See, I knew it – once I start writing, I can write up and down, and all over the place, losing focus on the subject.)

MY PETS

Gwenyth, my LOL (Little Old Lady)

Last Chance Lance

No Mar (“Mr. Nice Guy”)


Miss Blur

Margaret Madeline (“Maddie”)

Abygayle (“Abby”)

Felipe 


LOCATION
The beautiful view from my deck:


Nestled in the heart of the forest, amongst towering redwoods, oaks, and madrones, is the two-story house that I rent. It has been my home for the last 12 years! 

It is quite serene – birds heralding, bugs buzzing, quails flittering, hawks soaring, lizards skittering, snakes slithering, butterflies fluttering, crickets chirping, frogs croaking, wolves howling, and of course, domestic dogs barking.

There are deer, squirrels, raccoons, bats, skunks, bobcats, jack rabbits, the occasional mountain lion, and eww: scorpions. 😏
I live off-the-grid, in a small town, in the Santa Cruz Mountains. The main road is at 450′, and I drive on 3 miles of dirt roads to get to my home, at 1700′. The nearest stores are one hour round trip from my humble abode.

Solar energy powers my home, and my running water comes from a well – fresh, spring water! 

A Blessing in Disguise 

After working over 20 years as a technician in a state of the art veterinary hospital, I was terminated (with an opportunity to reapply) five days post operative surgery on my right ankle. My supervisors had told me that I would have my job and to get 100% better. (This was verbal, nothing in writing.)
The reality of knowing I lost my job sent me into a downward spiral. I was angry, frustrated, and depressed. 

I didn’t have to have this last surgery, I could have easily slipped on an ankle splint (I had a ruptured ligament and a bone spur.) But they told me to go ahead with the surgery, and then I get the call not even a week later?!

The more I thought about my situation, the more I realized it was time to move on. God wanted me to do other things with my life. And so, in the end, my termination became a blessing in disguise.

Why? Have you ever heard of Compassion Fatigue? It’s a real syndrome for caregivers of people and animals alike. I would get so wrapped up in my cases, and when the animal was doing poorly, or would die – a little piece of my heart would scatter into the wind.

It’s a tough position to be in – caring for those who are helpless. It’s emotionally exhausting. Of course, it’s also extremely rewarding when the pet goes home! 

And so, this brings me to my new position in life: the artist and owner of JC Heart Designs, which will lead me into my next blog.

I hope you enjoyed reading this introduction to me, myself, and I.

Please feel free to leave a comment. 🙂🙃 Thank you! 🙃🙂

